Nine Pin gets a perfect ’10’

My 4-pack of Nine Pin is chilling in the freezer, and it won’t be cold soon enough! I discovered Nine Pin last summer, when I sampled the Original, Belgian, and Ginger at the Troy Farmer’s Market. I went home with a bottle each of the Original and the Belgian, but only because my hands were too full to safely get a Ginger home safely. Since then, Nine Pin has made itself at home in my fridge, tucked into the door with the IPA’s and Gosling’s Ginger Beer (the best Ginger Beer for a Moscow Mule, in my very humble opinion. I know there are a lot of ciders out there, but with the exception of a quite good offering from Argyle Brewing (in Greenwich), I haven’t branched out from Nine Pin yet, unless you count going from bottle to can. It’s just so darned good. Light and refreshing, and it’s the perfect choice when you can’t decide between a cold beer or a glass of wine.

Mike G. is making me dinner tonight (yes, I am a lucky woman) – roasted duck with wild rice and butternut squash. He’s been trying to convert me over to duck – “the other dark meat”  since I met him. This duck, marinating in a fragrant concoction of orange-pineapple juice, soy sauce, pomegranate molasses, sherry, ginger, red onion, garlic, and sesame oil, might do the trick. That Original is going to be mighty tasty with it.

Leave a Reply

